I’m a celebrity, get me a building to design!


Photograph: Alberto Pizzoli/Getty

Greetings, Shangri-La seekers. I know what you’re thinking. Wouldn’t it be amazing if there was a wondrous citadel designed by celebrities, a sort of giant vanity project, built by modern-day slaves, unconstrained by the fetters of democracy and propped up by hot, black oil money?

Faustus, party of one? Your table is ready.

Come fly with me to Dubai – not literally, of course, one couldn’t be seen dead anywhere so common – a destination we shall classify as the Helldorado of the Middle East. And that’s a tough field.

I’m a celebrity, get me a building to design! Marina Hyde The Guardian 10/31/08

Leave a Reply

