The President’s Architect

Dean of the School of Architecture, Robert A.M. Stern, shuns politics when discussing his commission as architect of George W. Bush’s presidential library. “I am building a library for the president of the United States,” he says. “He represents us all.”

Chatting With Bush’s Architect Cathleen McGuigan Newsweek 9/6/07

“‘You know, the president has a very good sense of humor,’ says Stern, ‘and I’m not bad myself, so it was basically who was overlooking whom. He said, ‘Am I here to look you over, or are you here to look me over?’ And I said, ‘I think I’m here to be looked over’.'”

Read more here.

Posted by Chris

Leave a Reply

