Corbis: O’ Brother, Where Art Thou?

Dorothea Lange, “Migrant Mother,” (1936), Library of Congress, Prints and Photographs Division, Farm Security Administration – Office of War Information Photograph Collection.

It’s not easy (read: profitable) owning a large portion of U.S. visual culture. Today’s New York Times business section contains an article about Corbis, the giant photographic archives/licensing business owned by Bill Gates, describing the challenges Corbis faces as it tries to become profitable in a marketplace with more and more “microstock agencies” offering imagery at rock-bottom rates. What’s even more interesting is that 2 of the images mentioned and displayed in the article’s slide-show are, almost certainly, in the public domain, which eliminates the need to consult Corbis or any other for profit agency altogether. Dorothea Lange’s “Migrant Mother” was created with government funds (the Farm Security Administration) and is available through the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division and the photograph of John F. Kennedy by Cecil Stoughton is most likely in the public domain because Stoughton was employed by the Kennedy Administration – making his photos of Kennedy government documents. Many of Stoughton’s images are available at the JFK Library and Museum, which lists them in the public domain.

Now, perhaps I am engaging in unnecessary hand-wringing, but it is important to be aware that agencies like Corbis, while useful and possessing amazing collections, are also somewhat unscrupulous when it comes to selling images that we, as U.S. citizens, collectively own.

The sound you may be hearing right now is me being pushed off my soapbox.

A Photo Trove, a Mounting Challenge,” Katie Hafner, New York Times, April 10, 2007.

On a related note, Corbis’s facilities at Iron Mountain in rural southwest Pennsylvania are truly incredible. Tours are available for official groups who get the proper clearances. Iron Mountain also holds government records, the Census Bureau has its own underground zip code, so security is, well, fairly high.

Posted by: Ian M.

89 responses to “Corbis: O’ Brother, Where Art Thou?

  1. I want to to thank you for this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every bit of it.
    I’ve got you book marked to look at new things you
    post…

  2. Asking questions are in fact good thing if you are not understanding anything fully, however this article offers pleasant understanding yet.

  3. Hi, of course this paragraph is in fact nice and I have learned lot of things from it on the topic of blogging.
    thanks.

  4. I blog often and I seriously appreciate your information.
    The article has really peaked my interest. I will take a note of your site and keep checking for
    new information about once per week. I subscribed to your Feed
    as well.

  5. I like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and check again here frequently.
    I’m quite sure I will learn plenty of new stuff right here!

    Good luck for the next!

  6. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was
    super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any suggestions for first-time blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  7. What’s up to all, how is everything, I think every one is getting more from this web
    site, and your views are nice in support of new users.

  8. Hello there, I discovered your website via Google
    even as searching for a related matter, your site got here up,
    it looks good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hello there, just become aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s
    really informative. I am going to be careful
    for brussels. I will appreciate in the event you proceed this in future.

    A lot of other folks can be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

  9. I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article posted at
    this web page is actually fastidious.

  10. Paragraph writing is also a fun, if you be familiar with afterward you can write if not
    it is complex to write.

  11. What’s up to every one, the contents existing at this site are really awesome for people knowledge,
    well, keep up the nice work fellows.

  12. Everyone loves it when people get together and share thoughts.
    Great website, continue the good work!

  13. What’s up, I would like to subscribe for this blog to obtain most recent updates, therefore where can i do it please assist.

  14. That is really fascinating, You’re an overly professional blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and sit up for seeking more of your excellent post.
    Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

  15. I’m not sure where you’re getting your info, but good
    topic. I needs to spend some time learning much more or understanding
    more. Thanks for wonderful info I was looking for this info for my mission.

  16. Thanks for sharing your thoughts about anti aging skin care.
    Regards

  17. Do you have a spam issue on this blog; I also am a blogger, and I was
    curious about your situation; many of us have created some nice procedures and we are looking to exchange techniques with other folks, be sure to shoot me an email
    if interested.

  18. Oh my goodness! Amazing article dude! Thanks, However I am experiencing difficulties
    with your RSS. I don’t understand why I cannot subscribe to it.

    Is there anyone else getting similar RSS problems? Anyone that
    knows the answer can you kindly respond? Thanks!!

  19. First of all I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask
    if you don’t mind. I was interested to find out how you center yourself and clear
    your thoughts prior to writing. I have had trouble clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there.
    I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15
    minutes tend to be wasted simply just trying to figure
    out how to begin. Any ideas or tips? Thanks!

  20. Hello there! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through
    this post reminds me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting about this.
    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.
    Many thanks for sharing!

  21. I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really nice, keep it up!
    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your site to come back later on. Many thanks

  22. It’s hard to find well-informed people in this particular subject, however, you sound like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

  23. It’s actually a cool and useful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared
    this useful info with us. Please keep us up to date like
    this. Thank you for sharing.

  24. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think
    about worries that they plainly do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and defined out the whole
    thing without having side effect , people could take a signal.
    Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  25. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it hard to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but
    I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any tips
    or suggestions? Many thanks

  26. Wow, this piece of writing is nice, my sister is analyzing these things, therefore
    I am going to convey her.

  27. Thank you, I have just been searching for information about this
    subject for a long time and yours is the best I’ve came upon so far.
    However, what in regards to the conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

  28. Thanks for finally writing about >Corbis: O Brother,
    Where Art Thou? | ~Yale Arts Library Blog~ <Liked it!

  29. I am genuinely thankful to the holder of this website who has shared this fantastic
    paragraph at at this place.

  30. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m absolutely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  31. It’s going to be end of mine day, however before finish I am reading this wonderful article to increase my know-how.

  32. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your
    blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?

    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

  33. I was recommended this website through my cousin.
    I’m now not positive whether or not this submit is written via him as nobody else
    understand such distinctive about my difficulty.
    You are amazing! Thanks!

  34. I every time spent my half an hour to read this website’s content every day along with a
    cup of coffee.

  35. In my two year crime spree I ended up going to prison for a stolen gun. Particularly given that
    all of us who attended signed a non-disclosure agreement the large query is what did he actually exhibit at this secretive seminar.
    • Once stored, can be taken to anywhere, anytime and in any number to be accessed as per the need.

  36. I drop a comment when I appreciate a article on a website or if I have something to valuable to contribute to the conversation. It is a result of the
    passion communicated in the post I looked at. And after this post Corbis:
    O Brother, Where Art Thou? | ~Yale Arts Library Blog~. I was actually
    excited enough to post a thought 🙂 I do have 2 questions for
    you if it’s okay. Is it only me or do some of these responses come across
    as if they are left by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are posting on other sites,
    I’d like to keep up with you. Would you list the complete urls of all your communal sites like your twitter
    feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

  37. Heya are using WordPress for your site platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create
    my own. Do you need any coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  38. Since the admin of this web site is working, no uncertainty very
    rapidly it will be well-known, due to its quality
    contents.

  39. We’re a group of volunteers and starting a brand
    new scheme in our community. Your web site provided us with useful info to
    work on. You’ve done an impressive process and our whole group
    might be grateful to you.

  40. No matter if some one searches for his necessary thing, so he/she desires to be available that in detail, so that thing is maintained
    over here.

  41. I have read so many posts on the topic of the blogger lovers however this post is actually a
    pleasant paragraph, keep it up.

  42. Superb post however , I was waanting to know if you could write
    a litte more on this topic? I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate
    a little bit more. Cheers!

  43. Just want to say your article is as amazing. The clearness
    in your post is just cool and i could assume you are an expert on this subject.
    Fine with your permission allow me to grab
    your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please continue the enjoyable work.

  44. It’s going to be end of mine day, but before
    end I am reading this great post to increase my know-how.

  45. Hurrah, that’s what I was exploring for, what a
    stuff! present here at this web site, thanks admin of this web site.

  46. I do not know whether it’s just me or if perhaps everybody else experiencing
    issues with your blog. It appears as if some of the
    text in your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to
    them as well? This may be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve
    had this happen previously. Kudos

  47. The bringing together of sound engineering apply that
    normally requires into account the bodily nature of thhe geology
    and terrain, the oppportunities foor transport method integration andd very good environmental engineering ideas, whilst taking into account regional
    social and economic elements, along with sturdy enterprise and governmental
    help, will be necessary tto make the Manila Rail Subwway venture a reality.
    When you pkan to relocate, it is suggested to make a call to call to E-Z
    Movers in order to get the right kind of assistance. You will soon find out tthat some of these won’t work outt for you or aren’t cut out for the business type
    you have iin mind.

  48. Hi there to all, it’s actually a fastidious for me to pay
    a visit this web page, it contains valuable Information.

  49. Quality posts is the crucial to invite the visitors to pay a visit the web page, that’s what this web site is
    providing.

  50. Nice post. I was checking constantly this weblog and I am
    inspired! Very helpful info particularly the remaining section 🙂 I
    care for such info a lot. I used to be looking for this certain info for
    a very lengthy time. Thank you and best of
    luck.

  51. One of the highly demanding plumbing styles is known as Master Plumber.

    Online loan calculators are readily available to assist you in this step.
    Second, ask your plumber how long he has been in business.

  52. Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came
    to take a look. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m book-marking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Exceptional blog and excellent design and style.

  53. I really like what you guys are usually up too. This kind of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the good works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

  54. Sսperb, wɦat a webpage itt is! This blog provides helpfսl informɑtion to us,
    keep itt up.

  55. Wow, marvelous blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site
    is fantastic, let alone the content!

  56. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your website,
    how could i subscribe for a blog site? The account aided me a
    acceptable deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of
    this your broadcast provided bright clear idea

  57. Just wish to say your article is as astounding. The clearness on your submit is just
    nice and that i could assume you’re an expert on this subject.

    Fine with your permission let me to seize your feed
    to stay updated with imminent post. Thanks 1,000,000 and please carry on the rewarding work.

  58. Tremendous things here. I’m very happy to peer
    your article. Thank you a lot and I am looking
    ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  59. Everything is very open with a clear explanation of the challenges.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is extremely
    helpful. Thank you for sharing!

  60. I create a leave a response when I appreciate a post on a site or if I have something to
    valuable to contribute to the discussion. It is a result of the
    fire communicated in the post I looked at. And on this post Corbis:
    O Brother, Where Art Thou? | ~Yale Arts Library Blog~.
    I was actually moved enough to post a commenta response 🙂 I do
    have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it just me or does it look like like some of these responses come across
    like written by brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online social sites, I’d like to follow you.
    Could you list the complete urls of your communal pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter
    feed?

  61. Pretty! This has been an incredibly wonderful article.

    Thanks for supplying these details.

  62. Hey there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you
    know how to make your site mobile friendly? My weblog looks weird when viewing from my iphone.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to resolve this issue.
    If you have any recommendations, please share. With thanks!

  63. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get several e-mails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

  64. An interesting discussion is worth comment. I think that you
    need to publish more about this topic, it might not be a taboo subject but generally people don’t speak about such topics.
    To the next! All the best!!

  65. There are also exercises that help to stop snoring
    naturally. Since the dawn of time, this has been a major dilemma
    for women and has resulted in interrupted sleep, which in turn leads to stress, which in turn leads to even less sleep –
    it’s a vicious circle. people feel energetic at the morning times because of rejuvenation.

  66. It’s wonderful that you are getting ideas from
    this article as well as from our dialogue made here.

  67. Attractive component of content. I simply stumbled upon your web site and in accession capital to say that I acquire actually enjoyed
    account your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing for your
    feeds and even I fulfillment you get entry to consistently quickly.

  68. Hi Dear, are you genuinely visiting this web site regularly, if so then you will absolutely
    obtain nice experience.

  69. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning
    this site. I am hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In truth, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own website now 😉

  70. For most recent information you have to pay a
    visit world-wide-web and on web I found this website as a
    most excellent web site for most up-to-date updates.

  71. This piece of writing will assist the internet visitors for creating new webpage or even a blog from start
    to end.

  72. My spouse and I stumbled over here different
    web address and thought I may as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to
    checking out your web page for a second time.

  73. This is seriously very good!! I just should say that, when your website must have been a person; I might compliment one by telling I
    named all my devices after you… Thanks and also sustain the fine creative work.

  74. Incredible points. Outstanding arguments. Keep up
    the great effort.

  75. Thanks in favor of sharing such a nice opinion, paragraph
    is fastidious, thats why i have read it completely

  76. Hi there, this weekend is fastidious in favor of me, for the reason that this occasion i am reading this great informative
    article here at my house.

  77. Luxor located in Uper Egypt, is consideered an open air museum
    because it containts a third of the most
    valuable monuments in the world such as Karnak Temple,
    Hatshepsut Temple, Valley of the Kings and Queens. The resort of Hurghada, with its mixture of old bazaars, beautiful beaches and vibrant
    nightlife is a popular choice from which to experience
    the Red Sea region, with its slightly quieter neighbour El Gouna, a more laid back option. No
    responsibility is accepted for any additional expenses.

  78. Because of the advancement of filming technology taking picture has become very easy, but
    taking a good picture is still out of bound for many.
    The foremost coverage that these plans offer is against the
    death and disablement of an insured due to an accident.
    It is also an opportunity to discuss important character traits with them like honesty,
    conflict resolution, strategy, compromise and
    how to be a graceful loser – or a graceful winner, even.

  79. Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iphone and
    tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot drop, just so
    she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now
    destroyed and she has 83 views. I know this is completely off topic but I had to share it with
    someone!

  80. I enjoy, result in I found just what I was taking a look for.
    You have ended my 4 day lengthy hunt! God Bless you man. Have a nice day.
    Bye

  81. Have you ever considered writing an ebook or guest authoring on other
    websites? I have a blog based on the same subjects you discuss and
    would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value
    your work. If you’re even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me
    an e mail.

  82. We stumbled oer hedre differentt page aand thought I maay as well check things out.
    I ike wgat I see so noww i’m following you. Look forward to looking
    att our wweb page yet again.

  83. Learn to listen attentively and have a mental note of details.
    Yoga asana: Sarvangasana and Bhujangasana are the
    two main asana, which are a great remedy to all your animal and mental problems.
    Large or important things are like the base of the tree.

  84. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and everything.
    However imagine if you added some great graphics or videos to give your
    posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and
    video clips, this site could undeniably be one of the greatest in its niche.

    Terrific blog!

  85. Organizer Smartphones are better than just ordinary mobile phones.
    However, this push towards more sophistication has led to the creation of a new market that seeks a more
    affordable alternative. It all started when I was searching online about QR Codes, I was curious because
    I keep seeing more and more popping up online.

  86. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for beard regularly

  87. Good day very nice web site!! Guy .. Beautiful ..

    Superb .. I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?
    I’m happy to seek out a lot of useful info right here in the submit,
    we want work out extra strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  88. It’s remarkable for me to have a site, which is good in support of my experience.
    thanks admin

  89. My brother recommended I would possibly like this website.
    He was once totally right. This put up truly made my day.

    You cann not consider simply how a lot time I had spent for tis information! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

