Beinecke Library acquires Toba Pato Tucker archive


Photograph of Edward Gumbs, a member of the Shinnecock Indian Nation, taken by Toba Pato Tucker in 1984. This image is taken from the Toba Tucker Gallery, where one can find many more examples of her work.

Photographic archive offers multi-faceted portrait of America March 30, 2007|Volume 35, Number 23 Yale Bulletin

“The Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library has acquired the archive of American photographer Toba Pato Tucker, who for the past 30 years has compiled a record of Americans of different races and ethnicities, including one of Long Island’s oldest African-American communities and various Native American tribes.”

Read press statement

Posted by: Tanya A.

2 responses to “Beinecke Library acquires Toba Pato Tucker archive

  1. I am one of the subjects in Toba Tucker’s pictures taken in Riverhead New York in my family church of First Baptist Church of Riverhead. I was probably 11/12 years old when the picture was taken with my grandmother, Gracie Goodridge. As a child I didn’t know the significance of this and now that I am 32 I would love to see this picture. Please can someone call me at my home 512-257-7863 or cell 512-853-0523, I really would like to see if my picture with my grandmother and brother is in your collection. I only found out about this while Googling my grandmother’s name and seeing an article in the New York Times where she is quoted to say that that picture is her favorite of that collection which was intitled, “Riverhead Black Folk Life and Oral History Project”.

Leave a Reply

